Dum spiro spero

While writing a fanfiction I recently stumbled across a very famous saying by the roman politician and philosopher Cicero:
Dum spiro, spero

Dum spiro spero
Dum spiro spero

It means as much as ‘While I breathe, I hope’. And suddenly I began to think about life. About goals, dreams and wishes. Is it right to hope? Or is hope just something we do irrationally and therefore should avoid it?
I thought about that a lot, because under normal circumstances I am a person, who is quite optimistic. Except for those days when the world seems to be too much to handle. When all problems come along to show you they are still there and you cannot do anything against them. You can just sit and wait. And hope.
But does hope really help us? Or is it just something we cling to, but that won’t help us at all?

Of course hope is something very irrational. We’re not suppossed to just rely on faith or destiny for helping us out of a difficult situation. But I realized, that hope is important to me. I have wishes, goals and dreams I’d like to accomplish one day. Maybe not today, maybe not tomorrow, but definitely some time in the future. And I hope, that things will turn out the way I’d like them to turn out.
It doesn’t mean that I want everything exactly as I imagine it, but similar.🙂
I know that hope is irrational and I sometimes ask myself, why I’m still clinging to it. Why I still hope for the dreams that live somewhere deep inside of me. But than again: what would I be without the dreams? Without the hope? Would I still be me?

I don’t think so. My dreams are a part of me. They are my motivators, the forces that keep me going. I know that I have to work hard to achieve what I want. But besides this I really want to hope and believe in a positive ending. Or a better way of living some day. One of my biggest goals is to become a writer. Well, what shall I say about it? My first novel is already written, short stories and poems as well. I love to write, I love to read.
And that’s what keeps me going. Having a fulltime job and staying at the desk after closing time, typing, thinking, imagining.

Yes, hope is important. Even scientific studies show that. And once again a roman philosopher keeps changing lives.🙂

Thanks for reading,
paradisiaeminor

Leave a Reply

