Henry Cavill: In time they’ll join you in the sun

I first “met” Henry Cavill, when I started watching The Tudors years ago. I absolutely loved this show and secretly still do. Some of my readers will remember that fact from my previous posts about Jeremy Northams participation.

{{Information |Description ={{en|1=Henry Cavill at the Wondercon 2011.}} |Source =http://www.flickr.com/photos/museled/5596223428/ |Author =http://www.flickr.com/people/museled/ |Date =April 3, 2011 |Permission = |other_ve
Henry Cavill at the Wondercon 2011 |Source = MuseLed on flickr , found on wikipedia.de

Of course I was interested in what happened to Henry VIII, his wives, the british church and the british kingdom. But: One of the most interesting characters of that show – besides the king himself, Thomas More, Katherine of Aragon and Anne Boleyn – was Charles Brandon, the Kings servant to become one of the Kings Dukes and the brother-in-law of the King, too. From my point of view Henry Cavill really rocked this role. The storyline for Charles Brandon was incredibly well written and pretty elaborated. You could see him suffer, you could feel his pain. And yet he remained the good-looking, somehow cheeky supporter of the King. Although he grew up a lot along with the trials and tribulations all characters had to go through during the whole series.
Just to speak of it: Henry was 24, when he first portrayed Charles Brandon. He was young and was able to grow with his character. Well done, well done. Soon he became the secret star of The Tudors. I still remember social media groups displaying their love for Henry and claiming, that he’d be the only reason to watch The Tudors. Well, I guess that’s a bit exaggerated, because you watch a series mostly because of the story behind it. But a good actor can be a pretty good incentive.🙂

I’ve seen him in a couple of movies by now and I still have to say, that I like to watch him. It’s not that I’m going to break out in a girlish squeak, whenever I discover, that he’s starring in a new one. But I have to admit that I was pretty happy to see him as the next Superman. The first European to be him. I like super heroes and to see one of my favorite actors as one of them is awesome. Although I’m more of the Marvel-type, I’m definitely going to watch the new Superman. I’m pretty excited about the way they set up the new movie. And I’m pretty excited to compare Henry to previous actors, who portrayed the Man of Steel. Christopher Reeve to be the first in line.🙂

Some biographical background for Henry:
He was born on the 5th of May 1983 as Henry William Dalgliesh Cavill on the isle of Jersey as the second youngest of five brothers. His acting career really started, when he was 17 and cast for the movie The Count of Monte Christo. Roles In Red Riding Hood, Hellraiser: Hellworld, Tristan & Isolde and even Stardust followed, before his breakthrough was accomplished by portraying Charles Brandon.
Some personal trivia (found on imdb.com): he is interested in egyptology and learning languages (speaks french, german and italien), he was rumored to be the first choice of Stephenie Meyer to portray Edward Cullen in the movie adaption of the Twilight books (which I think would have been the better choice…).

Leave a Reply

