IMG_20150408_195219[1]

Training and Running

For more than 7 months I’ve been training hard to get where I am right now. I went to the gym, went swimming, pulled weights and sometimes drowned in my own sweat. (And tears, when reducing weight didn’t go as planned)
But there’s one thing I learned throughout this time: you have to love what you do to achieve what you want. And it doesn’t matter, if you love it, because you succeed and achieving your aims becomes a main focus. Or if you succeed, because you just love lifting weights, running around, cycling or whatever you’re really into.

I’m more of a goal-oriented person though. I need aims, I need goals that I can achieve. I need little achievements until I can reach the big goal. That’s how I lost almost 60 lbs. But now, that I managed to reach a weight that was my absolute dream (but is only a start tbh), I need new goals to loose even more weight.
And I found a new training method, a new challenge for myself: running.

Getting started
Getting started

About 2 weeks ago I tried running for the first time. I thought it might be boring or I might not like it at all, but I just freakingly loved it. I enjoyed every minute on the treadmill (ok, it was hard, too, but challenge is what makes things interesting, isn’t it?)
I started to power walk at first to get ready and prepare my body. There are muscles, nerves and tendons, that need to get used to the former unusual load and the unusual way of bodily movement. After the second time, I started to combine short running sequences with short walking intervalls out in the „wilderness“.
And voila: there’s a new goal ahead of me. I want to be able to run a halfmarathon in about two years time.

Running is great and easily exercised – even while on holidays or otherwise away from home. All you need is a good plan, a good equipment and a bright motivation. I’m really looking forward to further training sessions and I’ll be more than happy to share my progress with you. And all the nice things I learn about running, training and the human body.

Leave a Reply

